Skip Navigation LinksHistory

Brumby Bowl History

The NNSY Golf Association annual club championship tournament is known as the BRUMBY BOWL. It began in 1931 and was named in honor of the Shipyard Commandant at the time, RADM Frank H. Brumby. The tournament is one of the oldest continuous running amateur golf tournaments in the state of Virginia. A large sterling silver trophy presented by Robertson Northrop Sport Shop, a prominent sport equipment supplier for many years in Portsmouth, bears the names of all past champions. For many years the trophy was on display in the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame in downtown Portsmouth but is now kept in various locations within the shipyard. A new permanent home is planned near the Command Briefing Room in Bldg. 1500. Some interesting stats are: R. F. "Juicy" Staylor has won the tournament more than anyone - eight times from 1957-1975. From 1991-2008 Billy Gilpin has won six championships. From 2011-2000 Archie McDowell from Capitol Industries has won five times. Dana Gwynn has the most consecutive wins with four from 1984-1987. Bob Rowell has been a champion four times from 1981-1997. From 1952-1959 E.P. Taylor captured four wins and J.C. Thompson won four times from 1932-1937. Shop 31 has produced the most champions - twelve times (thirteen if you count the one Staylor won after retiring).


Past Champions are:

President's Cup History

Since 2016 the Presidents Cup has been a cumulative points tournament that is contested over the course of the season taking the 5 best results of each player that is entered.  Before that it was a match play tournament that started in 1990. The following results for each year of the match play proves that the handicap system works. The number in brackets was the handicap for the players at the time of the match. Each year we have approximately 30 to 40 members that compete for top position.

Past Champions are: